Life Lesson

I had the most awesome revelation today! As I went through my day I was thinking that we all have special gifts such as listening, giving advice, helping others, and many others, and I realized that one of my gifts is that I give, most times I don’t think twice about buying someone something even though I barely know them, or giving someone money, not because I have a lot of money, or because I want to impress them or I want them to like me but just because is something that warms my heart, even when I am selfish and I have a small argument with my spirit because lets face it I am not perfect and sometimes I argue with my spirit about how I am not getting anything in return I end up giving anyway and then I feel happy because it is the gift that God has given me. I am a giver and not necessarily only with materials things, I like to motivate people, give them advice, help them out in general and even though sometimes people take advantage of me for it or take it for granted God revealed to me that I need to be thankful because maybe they might not give me something back in return but my Lord has already given me everything I need and he keeps giving me things every day and I am so undeserving, nothing I ever do will be as wonderful as what Jesus did for me at the cross and no matter what I do, when I come back to him he receives me with open arms and he keeps on giving even though I give nothing in return, yet sometimes I give but then complain because I didn’t get what I expected in return, sometimes when we give love or care we expect for that person to give it back but God sends someone else to provide that for us but we are too blind to see it because we are too busy complaining about how that person doesn’t care about us, doesn’t text us back or whatever nonsense so we decide to stop giving and close ourselves off and we go around being mad at people and they don’t even know why, but we pretend to be happy yet we’re alone and empty, surrounded by people who love us but we’ve created this idea that they don’t care only because a couple of people in our life didn’t give back; we’re blinded to see the thousands God is sending to return the favor. I include myself in all of this because I’ve done it too, I hated the fact that I was like this sometimes because it seemed like people just took  what they needed and left and then last weekend I received a beautiful gift from someone I didn’t expect to think of me other than when we are in the same place, and this moved me so much because on top of everything it was a book on how to praise the Lord and so I cried with tears of joy knowing that when I think no one cares about what I do for them, there is someone who is watching all the time and the Glory of me being a giving person all goes to Him because in my flesh I am selfish, so this humbled me and today I thought;  who am I to decide who is worthy or unworthy of my giving, I will keep giving to those who God puts in my life, after all I will take nothing to my grave, you want the world to change? Start with yourself, share whatever gift you have with others without expectations and make a difference in someone’s life, whatever you have to offer is important and vital otherwise you wouldn’t be here. 

Leave a comment